• 2016 Winners

    Comments Off on 2016 Winners
    21 Feb 2016 /  2015-2016 moot

    Congratulations to all the participants, including the following award winners, of the 2016 Harold G. Fox Moot.

    • The Harold G. Fox Cup for the best mooting team:
      • Winner: Stefan Case and Victoria Hale, University of Toronto
      • Runner up: Alicja Puchta and Keton Motta Freeman, Osgoode Hall Law School
      • Semi-Finalists: Sam Keen and Shane Thomas, University of Toronto and Andrew Martinez, Yasir Samad, University of Ottawa
    • The Donald F. Sim Award for the best oral advocate:
      • Winner: Stefan Case, University of Toronto
      • Runner up: Steve Falkingham, University of Manitoba
      • Honourable Mentions (alphabetically): Sam Keen, University of Toronto; James Lepore, Western University; Yasir Samad, University of Ottawa; Shane Thomas, University of Toronto
    • The Gordon F. Henderson Award for the best factum writers:
      • Appellant: Alicja Puchta and Keton Motta Freeman, Osgoode Hall Law School
      • Respondent: Stefan Case and Victoria Hale, University of Toronto
      • Honourable Mentions (alphabetically): Jae Morris & James McTague, University of Alberta (Respondent-tied); Andrew Martinez & Yasir Samad, University of Ottawa (Respondent-tied); Yaroslavna Nosikova & Khoa Tran, University of Victoria (Appellant)
    • The Dimock Stratton LLP award for the best mooter in a non-graduating year: Stefan Case, University of Toronto. Stefan and a teammate will be invited to represent their school at the 2017 Oxford International IP Moot in England.

    The Fox Moot Committee thanks the sponsors, panellists, volunteers and organizers who worked hard to make this annual moot such a success.


  • Detailed Schedule

    Comments Off on Detailed Schedule
    16 Feb 2016 /  2015-2016 moot

    The detailed schedule for the 2016 Fox Moot has been circulated to the participants and schools. It is reproduced below (PDF link).

    Friday, February 19, 2016

    Saturday, February 20, 2016

  • 2016 Fox Lecture

    Comments Off on 2016 Fox Lecture
    01 Feb 2016 /  2015-2016 moot

    The Harold G. Fox Moot Organizing Committee


    The 2016 Fox Intellectual Property Lecture


    The Honourable Marshall Rothstein

    former Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada


    will deliver a lecture entitled 

    The Value of Copyright:
    Applying the Principles of Technological
    Neutrality and Balance



    The Lecture will be held on Friday February 19, 2016 at 12:00 pm at the St. Andrew’s Club & Conference Centre, 150 King Street West, 16th Floor – Garden Hall Room).

    Registration has closed but if you would like to attend the Lecture Luncheon, please contact Fiona Leckie at rsvp@dimock.com.

    If attending the luncheon, please arrive prior to 12:00 to pick up your name tag and to get a seat.  Please note, there is no reserved seating.